To assist the non-profit work of the NIW the Foundation Lower Saxony Economic Research was founded on the 26th November 2001.
Together with the institutional support of the state Lower Saxony the revenue the foundation brings in bear the financial base load necessary for independent research and consulting activities. The benefits are being declared in a research plan and are open to the public.

Contact address:

Stiftung Niedersächsische Wirtschaftsforschung
Prof. Dr. Sonning Bredemeier
Eichhörnchensteg 38
30657 Hannover

Board of Trustees:

Prof. Dr. Sonning Bredemeier, former Chief Economist of NORD/LB and member of the board of directors of NIW (Chairman)

Dr. Volker Schmidt, Chief Executive Director, NiedersachsenMetall (Vice Chairman)

Dr. Volker Müller, Chief Executive Officer, Institute of the North German Economy

Prof. Michael Sommer, Chief Executive Director (retired), Bauindustrieverband Niedersachsen-Bremen

Dr. Sabine Johannsen, Chief Executive Director, N-Bank

Founding members of the foundation Lower Saxony Economic Research were the companies

  • AWD Holding AG
  • Norddeutsche Landesbank
  • Sartorius AG
  • Salzgitter AG, Stahl und Technologie
  • Sennheiser electronic GmbH & Co. KG

and the associations

  • Allgemeine Arbeitgebervereinigung Hannover und Umgebung (AGV)
  • Institut der Niedersächsischen Wirtschaft
  • Niedersächsischer Industrie- und Handelskammertag
  • Verband der Bauindustrie für Niedersachsen
  • Verband der Metallindustriellen Niedersachsens


  • N-Bank
  • Treuhand Hannover Steuerberatungsgesellschaft mbH
  • VGH Versicherungen
  • VHV Vereinigte Hannoversche Versicherung
  • Toto-Lotto Niedersachsen GmbH
  • Niedersächsische Börse zu Hannover
  • Sparkassenverband Niedersachsen